B-Fest

b-festB-Fest is Barnes and Noble’s first nation-wide teen book festival that took place this past weekend. With over 1,000 authors participating, there were plenty of opportunities to meet authors or part-take in some book nerd fun. Unfortunately, due to my work schedule I was only able to attend the first night’s trivia session, but it was still completely worth attending! Continue reading

And I Darken

9780553522310_p0_v4_s192x300
And I Darken

Author: Kiersten White
Series: The Conquerors Saga
Publisher: Random House Children’s Books
Publication Date: 6/28/2016
Pages: 496
Source: ARC from BookCon 2016

*I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*

Read All About It:
NO ONE EXPECTS A PRINCESS TO BE BRUTAL. And Lada Dragwlya likes it that way. Ever since she and her gentle younger brother, Radu, were wrenched from their homeland of Wallachia and abandoned by their father to be raised in the Ottoman courts, Lada has known that being ruthless is the key to survival. She and Radu are doomed to act as pawns in a vicious game, an unseen sword hovering over their every move. For the lineage that makes them special also makes them targets.

Lada despises the Ottomans and bides her time, planning her vengeance for the day when she can return to Wallachia and claim her birthright. Radu longs only for a place where he feels safe. And when they meet Mehmed, the defiant and lonely son of the sultan, who’s expected to rule a nation, Radu feels that he’s made a true friend—and Lada wonders if she’s finally found someone worthy of her passion.

But Mehmed is heir to the very empire that Lada has sworn to fight against—and that Radu now considers home. Together, Lada, Radu, and Mehmed form a toxic triangle that strains the bonds of love and loyalty to the breaking point.

My Opinion:
Yes, yes, yes!!! A strong female lead, an entertaining cast of characters, and super intriguing gender bent historical fiction plot that leaves me NEEDING more – what else could I ask for from a book? Maybe an awesome cover too? Oh wait, check. Continue reading

B.O.W. Summer Teen Panel

image2I got to attend Books of Wonder’s Summer Teen Panel and it was awesome! Carrie Firestone, Aimee Friedman, and Christine Heppermann were all there to discuss their new books. Not only does my to-be-read list now have a few more books added to it, but it was great to hear about each author’s writing process for the books before I began to read them.

One thing that made this selection of three women even more interesting was the different stages of publishing they are in – debut author to a well-published author. Continue reading

Furiously Happy

9781250077004_p0_v5_s192x300Furiously Happy

Author: Jenny Lawson
Series: Stand-alone Novel
Publisher: Flatiron Books
Publication Date: 9/22/2015
Pages: 352
Source: Borrowed from library

Read All About It:
In Furiously Happy, #1 New York Times bestselling author Jenny Lawson explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea.

But terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

As Jenny says:

“Some people might think that being ‘furiously happy’ is just an excuse to be stupid and irresponsible and invite a herd of kangaroos over to your house without telling your husband first because you suspect he would say no since he’s never particularly liked kangaroos. And that would be ridiculous because no one would invite a herd of kangaroos into their house. Two is the limit. I speak from personal experience. My husband says that none is the new limit. I say he should have been clearer about that before I rented all those kangaroos. Continue reading

Beware That Girl

27065377Beware That Girl

Author: Teresa Toten
Series: Stand-alone Novel
Publisher: Random House Children’s Books
Publication Date: 5/31/2016
Pages: 336
Source: ARC from BookCon 2016

*I received this ARC for free in exchange for an honest review. This does not affect my opinion of the book or the content of my review.*

Read All About It:
The Haves. The Have-Nots. Kate O’Brien appears to be a Have-Not. Her whole life has been a series of setbacks she’s had to snake her way out of—some more sinister than others. But she’s determined to change that. She’s book smart. She’s street-smart. Oh, and she’s also a masterful liar.

As the scholarship student at the Waverly School in NYC, Kate has her work cut out for her: her plan is to climb the social ladder and land a spot at Yale. She’s already found her “people” among the senior class “it” girls—specifically in the cosseted, mega-wealthy yet deeply damaged Olivia Sumner. As for Olivia, she considers Kate the best friend she’s always needed, the sister she never had.

When the handsome and whip-smart Mark Redkin joins the Waverly administration, he immediately charms his way into the faculty’s and students’ lives—becoming especially close to Olivia, a fact she’s intent on keeping to herself. It becomes increasingly obvious that Redkin poses a threat to Kate, too, in a way she can’t reveal—and can’t afford to ignore. How close can Kate and Olivia get to Mark without having to share their dark pasts? Continue reading

BookCon 2016

Pictures 840

BookCon 2016’s Show Floor

I had never been to a book convention of any kind before this and it was AMAZING!!! Imagine a day packed full events to create book nerd heaven and you have BookCon! Be prepared for a lot of exclamation points in this post because the excitement hasn’t faded. My day began early (read: I woke up when I’d normally be going to bed) so that I could get a good spot in line to get autograph signing wristbands then a good spot in line to get onto the show floor.

It was fantastic to be surrounded by so many fellow book nerds. Plus the amount of authors walking around may have had me starstruck (Tahereh Mafi and Ransom Riggs are an adorable couple in person too). I decided to go in without a set plan and found that being flexible really worked out. Continue reading

99 Days

9780062216380_p0_v1_s192x30099 Days

Author: Katie Cotugno
Series: Stand-alone
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 4/21/2015
Pages: 384
Source: Borrowed from library

Read All About It:
This New York Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson, is now in paperback.

Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly’s heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe wouldn’t quit till he got me to come to this party, and I’m surprised to find I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me. Continue reading

The Name of the Star

9780142422052_p0_v1_s192x300The Name of the Star

Author: Maureen Johnson
Series: Shades of London, #1
Publisher: Penguin Young Readers Group
Publication Date: 9/29/2011
Pages: 368
Source: Borrowed from Library

Read All About It:
New York Times bestseller Maureen Johnson takes on Jack the Ripper in this captivating paranormal thriller!

The day that Louisiana teenager Rory Deveaux arrives in London to start a new life at boarding school is also the day a series of brutal murders breaks out over the city, killings mimicking the horrific Jack the Ripper spree of more than a century ago. Soon “Rippermania” takes hold of modern-day London, and the police are left with few leads and no witnesses. Except one. Rory spotted the man police believe to be the prime suspect. But she is the only one who saw him—the only one who can see him. And now Rory has become his next target. In this edge-of-your-seat thriller, full of suspense, humor, and romance, Rory will learn the truth about the secret ghost police of London and discover her own shocking abilities. Continue reading

Everything, Everything

18692431Everything, Everything

Author: Nicola Yoon
Series: Stand-alone
Publisher: Random House Children’s Book
Publication Date: 9/1/2015
Pages: 320
Source: Borrowed from library

Read All About It:
My disease is as rare as it is famous. Basically, I’m allergic to the world. I don’t leave my house, have not left my house in seventeen years. The only people I ever see are my mom and my nurse, Carla.

But then one day, a moving truck arrives next door. I look out my window, and I see him. He’s tall, lean and wearing all black—black T-shirt, black jeans, black sneakers, and a black knit cap that covers his hair completely. He catches me looking and stares at me. I stare right back. His name is Olly.

Maybe we can’t predict the future, but we can predict some things. For example, I am certainly going to fall in love with Olly. It’s almost certainly going to be a disaster.  Continue reading

Red Queen

9780062310637_p0_v2_s192x300Red Queen

Author: Victoria Aveyard
Series: Red Queen, #1
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 2/10/2015
Pages: 400
Source: Purchased

Read All About It:
Graceling meets The Selection in debut novelist Victoria Aveyard’s sweeping tale of seventeen-year-old Mare, a common girl whose once-latent magical power draws her into the dangerous intrigue of the king’s palace. Will her power save her or condemn her?

Mare Barrow’s world is divided by blood—those with common, Red blood serve the Silver- blooded elite, who are gifted with superhuman abilities. Mare is a Red, scraping by as a thief in a poor, rural village, until a twist of fate throws her in front of the Silver court. Before the king, princes, and all the nobles, she discovers she has an ability of her own.

To cover up this impossibility, the king forces her to play the role of a lost Silver princess and betroths her to one of his own sons. As Mare is drawn further into the Silver world, she risks everything and uses her new position to help the Scarlet Guard—a growing Red rebellion—even as her heart tugs her in an impossible direction. One wrong move can lead to her death, but in the dangerous game she plays, the only certainty is betrayal. Continue reading