99 Days

9780062216380_p0_v1_s192x30099 Days

Author: Katie Cotugno
Series: Stand-alone
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication Date: 4/21/2015
Pages: 384
Source: Borrowed from library

Read All About It:
This New York Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Jenny Han, Sarah Dessen, and Morgan Matson, is now in paperback.

Molly Barlow is facing one long, hot summer—99 days—with the boy whose heart she broke and the boy she broke it for . . . his brother.

Day 1: Julia Donnelly eggs my house my first night back in Star Lake, and that’s how I know everyone still remembers everything. She has every right to hate me, of course: I broke Patrick Donnelly’s heart the night everything happened with his brother, Gabe. Now I’m serving out my summer like a jail sentence: Just ninety-nine days till I can leave for college and be done.

Day 4: A nasty note on my windshield makes it clear Julia isn’t finished. I’m expecting a fight when someone taps me on the shoulder, but it’s just Gabe, home from college and actually happy to see me. “For what it’s worth, Molly Barlow,” he says, “I’m really glad you’re back.”

Day 12: Gabe wouldn’t quit till he got me to come to this party, and I’m surprised to find I’m actually having fun. I think he’s about to kiss me—and that’s when I see Patrick. My Patrick, who’s supposed to be clear across the country. My Patrick, who’s never going to forgive me.

 My Opinion:
Molly, Molly, Molly. I think we need to sit down and have a chat about not playing with your friend’s emotions.

Unfortunately, since it is a book, I could not sit down with her and yell at her like I frequently wanted to about how what she does affects others. Molly spends a school year away from her hometown to avoid scrutiny prompted by a best-selling book her mom published that features a character based off of Molly and her romantic life. After she returns, she makes enough mistakes her mom could write a sequel. With all of the bad decisions she was making I found it incredibly hard to relate to her. Frustrated is just one way to describe how I felt watching her hurt people (some completely innocent and friendly people) over and over again. She seemed selfish, indecisive, and like she had not learned from her past.

The Donnelly family was not better than Molly as they seemed to be a big mess themselves. Julia tormented Molly numerous times after she returned, but once Molly discovered her secret, they were back on friendlier terms. Patrick seemed like a huge jerk (which is understandable after what Molly did), but to me he seemed like a controlling, bad boyfriend before they even broke up. Although Gabe was much nicer and supportive to Molly, it was hard to like him as well because he couldn’t put his family before his own wants and seemed ignorant to the fact he is majorly at fault too.

The book is trying to get across the double standard society has that makes the town point their finger at only Molly, not Gabe as well. This is a completely valid point and a good message, but it still doesn’t make Molly in the “okay” either. The message itself could have been more impactful if Molly actually seemed regretful about how she hurt people, not just regretful that it negatively impacted her life.

99 Days just wasn’t for me.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s